SafeGuard LAN Crypt Administration - How to reassign a specific key to a user or group

  • ID dell'articolo: 107827
  • Aggiornato: 14 ott 2010


Product
SafeGuard LAN Crypt Administration v.3.51 and above

Client OS

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP


Question
How do I reassign a specific key to a user or group?

You may need to do this for a reason similar to this example. A user is imported from Active Directory into the SafeGuard LAN Crypt Administration Console. A user-specific key is generated for this user. If you delete the group of which the user is a member in the SafeGuard LAN Crypt Administration Console and re-import it, SafeGuard LAN Crypt automatically generates a new user-specific key when it generates the user's policy files. The user can then no longer access data that was encrypted with the "old" user-specific key.

Answer:
You need to configure SafeGuard LAN Crypt so that specific keys from deleted users/groups can be reassigned. Do this in one of the following ways.

  • Open the registry key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Utimaco\SGLANCrypt

    and under the key add the DWORD-Value "ShowUserKeyPage" with the Data Value "1"
  • You can also create this entry in the Windows registry for a specific user under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Policies\Utimaco\SGLANCrypt

    If this value is in the Windows registry, the tab page "specific key" is added to the properties dialog (<user/group>/Context menu/Properties) for users and groups.



In this tab page, you can assign specific keys, which are present in the database and are not currently assigned to a user or group, to specific users and groups.

If a specific key is assigned to a user or a group, it is displayed in the "specific key" tab page. If no specific key is displayed, you can replace the current key with a different specific key or assign a new key. You can use any of the the keys that are present in the database which have not yet been assigned to a user or a group.

Note: To make these changes, a Security Officer must have the Use specific Keys permission. If they do not, they will only have read access.

    1. Click the Browse... button to display a list of all available keys. Select a key and click OK
    2. In the Specific key tab, click OK.

If the current specific key was replaced by a different one, it remains in the database as a nonassigned key.

 
Per maggiori informazioni o per assistenza, vi preghiamo di contattare il supporto tecnico.

Valutate l'articolo

Molto scadente Eccellente

Commenti