SafeGuard LAN Crypt v 3.13 and above.
Important: SafeGuard LAN Crypt Client version 3.13 retires on September, 30th 2010. We recommend to update your version as soon as possible – for further information please contact your Sophos sales representative.
Windows 2000 Professional, Windows XP
When files and folders are moved or renamed, why does SafeGuard LAN Crypt not encrypt them according to the profile?
As of version 3.x for performance reasons the following applies: when you move complete directories within the same drive using Windows Explorer, SafeGuard LAN Crypt does not modify the encryption status. This means that if renaming or moving a directory, no encryption, decryption or re-cryption is made.
e.g. from C:\Management to C:\Sales
If the files were encrypted, they stay encrypted in the new location under the new directory name. If the user owns the respective key, he can work with these files as usual.
Moving over SafeGuard LANCrypt
However, SafeGuard LAN Crypt itself supports the secure moving of files and directories. When moving files over SafeGuard LAN Crypt, if required, the files and directories are encrypted, decrypted or re-crypted according to the current encryption rules at the new storage location. Afterwards, the source files are securely deleted.
This function is accessible using the command
Move over SGLC from the Windows Explorer context menu. By means of a dialogue, you can select where the files are to be moved to.