Purging System Restore in Windows Vista

  • Article ID: 17803
  • Updated: 28 Mar 2011

How to purge System Restore in Windows Vista.

Note: This will delete any previously created restore points.

What to do

  • Go to Start|Control Panel|Backup and Restore Center.
  • On the left, select 'Create a restore point or change settings'.
  • In the window that opens, select the 'System Protection' tab.
  • Each available disk which is listed, has a checkbox alongside it. Deselect each of these checkboxes.
  • A new window is displayed, select 'Turn System Restore Off'.

This disables System Restore. You should then immediately re-enable it.

  • Reselect all the listed drives.
  • Click 'OK'.
  • Restart the computer.

Another knowledgebase article describes how to purge system restore in Windows XP.

 
If you need more information or guidance, then please contact technical support.

Rate this article

Very poor Excellent

Comments