Disinfection and files in System Restore

  • Article ID: 14246
  • Rating:
  • 3 customers rated this article 1.0 out of 6
  • Updated: 02 Feb 2012

When disinfecting a Windows XP, Windows Vista, or Windows Me computer, Sophos Anti-Virus for Windows might report some infected files in System Restore. If this happens, purge System Restore. You should do this, regardless of what action Sophos Anti-Virus reports it has taken with those files.

The reason for this is

  • You should not restore from a version of Windows that was infected.
  • If files in System Restore were changed in any way, they will not restore correctly.

Two Microsoft Knowledge Base Articles describe why you should purge System Restore in this situation:

What to do

Purge System Restore on

 
If you need more information or guidance, then please contact technical support.

Rate this article

Very poor Excellent

Comments