Implications of choosing the default action of automatically updating Sophos Update Manager

  • Article ID: 113517
  • Updated: 10 Feb 2012

As part of the Sophos Update Manager (SUM) configuration, the default action is to automatically update SUM to the latest version.  This will result in:

  1. SUM automatically updating itself to the latest version of SUM in the Sophos warehouse.
  2. The Remote Management System (RMS) component which is installed as part of SUM will be updated to the latest version.

Known to apply to the following Sophos product(s) and version(s)

Sophos Update Manager

NOTE: as RMS is a merge module of the SUM installation package, when SUM is updated, RMS shared binaries are also updated. However the version of RMS displayed in "Add or Remove Programs" or "Programs and Features" will remain as the previous version. The next time AutoUpdate installs the latest version of the RMS package as part of the endpoint installation, the installed version will be correctly reflected.

A reboot maybe required to complete the installation of SUM and RMS. A warning will be shown within the update manager details section in Enterprise Console if a reboot is required.

If you prefer to control when SUM updates to a newer version and which version of RMS is updated on a SUM machine, Sophos recommends you choose a fixed version of SUM under the "Advanced" tab of the SUM configuration within Enterprise Console.

 
If you need more information or guidance, then please contact technical support.

Rate this article

Very poor Excellent

Comments