Windows groups

  • Article ID: 14510
  • Updated: 27 Jan 2012

Windows 2000 server and Windows 2003 server allow you to set up and configure Windows users and groups.

Note: The groups you configure in Windows Active Directory are for network administration purposes. These are not the same as the groups you set up in Enterprise Console, which you use for managing your Sophos Anti-Virus policies.

What to do

The procedure differs slightly, depending on whether or not Active Directory is present on your server.

Active Directory present on your server

To access groups

  • Select Start|Settings|Control Panel.
  • Double-click 'Administrative Tools'.
  • Select 'Active Directory Users and Computers'.

To create a group

  • In the 'Active Directory Users and Computers' window, in the Tree panel, select 'Users'.
  • Click 'Action'|'New'.
  • From the dropdown select 'Group'.
  • Work through the dialog boxes, providing information as requested.

To edit a group

  • In the 'Active Directory Users and Computers' window, from the 'Name' column select the group that you want to edit. The '<group or user name> Properties' configuration window opens.
  • Using the tabs, edit the group as required.
  • Click 'Apply' when you have finished.

To delete a group

  • In the 'Active Directory Users and Computers' window, in the 'Name' column right-click the group that you want to delete.
  • Select 'Delete'.

Active Directory not present on your server

To access groups

  • Select Start|Settings|Control Panel.
  • Double-click 'Administrative Tools'.
  • Select 'Computer Management'.
  • Select 'Local Users and Groups', then 'Groups'.

To create a group

  • Click 'Action'|.
  • Click 'New Group'.
  • Work through the dialog boxes, providing information as requested.

To edit a group

  • Right-click the group that you want to edit. The '<group or user name> Properties' configuration window opens.
  • Edit the group as required.
  • Click 'Apply' when you have finished.

To delete a group

  • Right-click the group that you want to delete.
  • Select 'Delete'.

For more details of how to configure Windows groups and users, refer to the Microsoft online help or other documentation.

 
If you need more information or guidance, then please contact technical support.

Rate this article

Very poor Excellent

Comments