Thumbnails of encrypted files are still shown even if no profile is loaded or you don’t have the right key

  • Article ID: 119487
  • Updated: 08 Oct 2014

Issue
Thumbnails of encrypted files are still shown even if no profile is loaded or you don’t have the right key

First seen in/Applies to

SafeGuard LAN Crypt Client for PC

Operating systems
Windows Vista,
Windows 7

What To Do

As of Windows Vista, all thumbnails are stored in a central place. To prevent users from being able to see the thumbnails, you have to encrypt the thumbnails database files.

Create two rules in your SafeGuard LAN Crypt Administration

  • %Userprofile%\Appdata\Local\IconCache.db
  • %Userprofile%\Appdata\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Explorer\*.db

As the files are in use by the Operating System, they will need to be deleted in order to encrypt them with SafeGuard LAN Crypt. The Disk Cleanup Tool can be used to purge the thumbnail cache:

  1. Click Start | Run | type cleanmgr
  2. Choose the system drive
  3. Select “Thumbnails” and click OK.

 
If you need more information or guidance, then please contact technical support.

Rate this article

Very poor Excellent

Comments