Configuring Automatic Backups: Sophos UTM

  • Article ID: 115189
  • Updated: 27 Feb 2014

This article provides information about how to automatically create backups and then send them out either to the system administrator or other identified email addresses.

Applies to the following Sophos product(s) and version(s)

Sophos UTM Software Appliance

Operating systems
v7, v8, v9

What To Do

Creating automatic backups

  1. In WebAdmin go to Management | Backup/Restore | Automatic Backups.
  2. Click the toggle switch to enable automatic backups.
    The status icon turns green and the 'Options' and 'Send backups by email' areas become editable.
  3. Select the interval.
    You can choose between daily, weekly, and monthly.
  4. Specify the maximum number of backups to be stored.
    Once the maximum has been reached, the oldest backups will be deleted.
    Note: this applies to automatically created backups only. Backups created manually will not be deleted.
  5. Click 'Apply' to save your settings.

Sending backups to designated email addresses

The backup feature supports emailing the backup file to a list of defined email addresses.

Specify the recipients that should receive the backups.Proceed as follows:

  1. In WebAdmin go to Management | Backup/Restore | Automatic Backups.
  2. Ensure that automatic backups are enabled.
  3. In the 'Send backups by email' area add 'Recipients' by clicking on the plus icon.
    A new line appears.
  4. Enter the recipients email address.
    Automatically generated backups will be sent to users contained in the 'Recipients' box. By default, the first administrator's email address is used.
  5. Select if you want to encrypt the backup (triple DES encryption).
  6. Once you have selected the encryption option, provide a password (second time for verification).
    Note: You will be prompted for this password when importing the backup.

Automatically created backups will appear in the 'Available backups' list on the 'Backup/Restore' tab, marked with the system flag indicating the creator. From there, they can be restored, downloaded, or deleted as any backup you have created by yourself.

 
If you need more information or guidance, then please contact technical support.

Rate this article

Very poor Excellent

Comments