SafeGuard LAN Crypt Client - How does SafeGuard LAN Crypt handle the deletion of encrypted files?

  • Article ID: 107359
  • Rating:
  • 1 customers rated this article 3.0 out of 6
  • Updated: 15 Oct 2014

Product
SafeGuard LAN Crypt Client v.3.7x and above

Client OS

All supported operating systems

Question
How does SafeGuard LANCrypt handle the deleting of encrypted files?

Answer
If your encryption profile is loaded, you can delete any encrypted file for which you own the key.

NOTE:
In fact, deleting files is moving them to the Windows Recycle Bin. To provide the highest security level, files encrypted by SafeGuard LAN Crypt remain encrypted in the Recycle Bin. To finally delete files, the key used for encrypting the files has to be available in the active profile. If the key is not available, an error message will be displayed and you cannot remove the files from your system.

There may be situations where encryption rules have been modified after a file was moved to the Recycle Bin. In this case, the old key has to be available in the active profile to finally delete this file.
If encrypted files are moved to the Recycle Bin and the user logs off afterwards and accesses one of these files in the Recycle Bin, these files cannot be restored any more.

 
If you need more information or guidance, then please contact technical support.

Rate this article

Very poor Excellent

Comments