Send malware the easy way…
Today while looking at the spam queue, I came across a very small message sent to multiple email addresses. The message was a simple link to a website like so..
The link mentioned in the message goes to a page which looks *very* similar to sendspace.com, a legitimate website offering a file upload/download service.
The link listed in the message took me to sendspace-free.com.ag. This page defaults to the following.
While asking me to “upgrade” to a Max premiun downloads service (clicking on which takes me to the malware), it also tried to automatically download some malware, asking me to click on a redirect button incase your browser has scripts turned off. Sneaky!!
Sophos detects this malware already as Troj/Virtum-Gen.
While this is all very simple, it again highlights the ease of which users can be tricked into believing that a site is legitimate. Resorting to copying the “look and feel” of legitimate websites is a age-old technique of scammers and not something which is likely to go away anytime soon.
It’s useful to look out for dodgy signs like out of place domain names; e.g. “sendspace-free.com.ag” instead of “sendspace.com”, small emails with just a link in the body, emails from unknown senders, websites which automatically ask you to download executables on the main page
The lesson as always is to have a internet security system in place and to always “think before u click”.
Posted on April 6th, 2009 by Prashant Kumar, SophosLabs AUFiled under: General, Malware
Free virus scan - Download the Threat Detection Test

















